ASU Election

ASU Election


After long process to establish an association that hosts almost all Somali universities as members has started more than 7 months ago, now, the association is officially named as Somali Universities Association and it has 39 universities as members. Also, the association is in its final stages of formation as the universities finally elected the top management of the association in its latest conference meeting at Safari hotel in Mogadishu, Somalia.

Thirty six universities attended the conference to elect between 12 candidates of the top three positions of the association: the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and the General Secretary. Three universities competed for the Chairperson position; four universities for the Vice-Chairperson, and five universities for the General Secretary position.

Dahir Hassan Arab from SIMAD University was elected as the Chairperson after he received 19 votes of the 36 votes counted. Hassan Kafi from Plasma University came second with 14 votes, and Samawade from Indian Ocean got 3 votes.

Second, Mr. Hikam from Kismayo University won the Vice-Chairperson position with 16 votes of the total votes. Abdirahman from Benadir University came second with 9 votes, and Eng. Ahmed from Bay University received 6 votes.

Third, Dr. Abdikarim from City University was elected as the General Secretary of the association after he got 19 votes. Mr. Arabow from Capital University came second with 10 votes, while Mr. Fawzi from Darul Hikma University received 4 votes.

Finally, the newly elected members appointed 4 new secretaries for the Higher Education, Finance, Social Affairs, and Research positions; and the 36 universities approved these new secretaries.

Reteled Posts

No Comment

You can post first response comment.

Leave A Comment

Please enter your name. Please enter an valid email address. Please enter a message.